The Taming of the Shrew
ALISON KENT is suitably wowed by an unscheduled debut in Munich

John Cranko would have celebrated his ninetieth birthday this year so, considering the fact he was artistic director in Munich between 1968 and 1972 while simultaneously running the Stuttgart Ballet, it is appropriate that the Bayerisches Staatsballett should honour him with a retrospective of his works. To get this season under way, they opened with a revival of his much-loved The Taming of the Shrew, loosely adapted from Shakespeare’s play, with nearly all of the major roles being debuted by dancers old and new in the company. Osiel Gouneo was expected to make his first appearance as Petrucchio, but an injury sustained during rehearsals forced a change of cast at very short notice; with just five days of rehearsal time left, newly engaged principal dancer Yonah Acosta, formerly with English National Ballet in London, jumped into the role for the first time, partnering Ksenia Ryzhkova as the incorrigible Kate.... Read Alison Kent's review in the November issue.  

Bayerisches Staatsballett - Yonah Acosta in Cranko's Taming of the Shrew. 

MacMillan - Northern Ballet

MIKE DIXON applauds Northern Ballet's Celebration of Sir Kenneth MacMillan, Master Choreographer  programme

Las Hermanas, Concerto and Gloria are three outstanding ballets by Kenneth MacMillan and hitherto totally alien to the repertoire of Northern Ballet. The usual stock-in-trade of this excellent company is full-length narrative works, usually by their artistic director, David Nixon, and although Las Hermanas might seem an ideal vehicle for the histrionic powers of this company, the two neoclassical pieces, with their complex steps, might have proved peaks too high to surmount. In the event, the company soared to new heights in conquering these technical eminences..... Read Mike Dixon's' review in the November issue. 

Northern Ballet - Giuliano Contadini and Dreda Blow in MacMillan's Las Hermanas.